P300 Random Multiple Misfire Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Spirit Series » P300 Random Multiple Misfire « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1934
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Thursday, 13 February, 2020 - 03:39:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

what is a spark sensor? where does it live and what does it do?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Darryl Watson
Experienced User
Username: inox

Post Number: 121
Registered: 04-2015
Posted on Thursday, 13 February, 2020 - 06:26:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Omar,
In the manual it is called by several names. E.g. Timing sensor, Spark Sensor. The part number is UE72296. It lives at the front of the engine near the timing pointer.
It sends a pulse to the Engine ECU to control the timing of the ignition spark (s).
That is my understanding. If I’m wrong someone will tell me.
Regards,
Darryl
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael vass
Frequent User
Username: mikebentleyturbo2

Post Number: 627
Registered: 07-2015
Posted on Thursday, 13 February, 2020 - 18:25:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Darryl and Omar there are two sensors on on the crank pulley one on the flywheel OK
Mike
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Udo Hoffmüller
Experienced User
Username: udo

Post Number: 105
Registered: 02-2008
Posted on Thursday, 13 February, 2020 - 20:03:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

The correct names of the sensors are
- CPS crankshaft position sensor
- ESS engine speed sensor, later called CKP crankshaft (engine speed) position sensor

CPS and ESS are the ones on Darryl's car. They are the same except for the length of the connecting cable.

Later the CPS is moved from the front to the rear end of the engine, it is still the same sensor, but now called CMP camshaft position sensor, a resistance sensor.

Only with Zytec-cars this sensor is another type of sensor: a Hall sensor.

The name changed from CSP to CMP because of the reference pin rotating witht the crankshaft, while the refence pin with CMP (at the rear of the engine) is rotating with the camshaft.

With Zytec-cars and Hall sensor there is no reference pin. The Hall sensor uses a single toothed disk mounted to the camshaft.

A little bit confusing. Regards - Udo
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1935
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Friday, 14 February, 2020 - 17:16:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

This is the perfect opportunity for you knowledgeable guys to help me resolve a 5 year issue that I have lived with rather than fix. Only reason I have not fixed it is because I dont know how to fix it.
My 1996 Azure does not idle well. Sometimes its perfect and other times the revs go up and down. When the revs dip below a certain number it triggers the check engine light. I have to reset the light every time it comes on. Recently it has been coming on almost every time I drive the car. The fault code that comes up is P300 multiple random misfire.
The plugs and coils are all good as are the injectors. I have swapped out the idle air control solenoid from two other cars that did not have the problem and nothing changed.
Could it be one of the speed sensors? If so which one?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Udo Hoffmüller
Experienced User
Username: udo

Post Number: 106
Registered: 02-2008
Posted on Saturday, 15 February, 2020 - 03:45:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Dear Omar,

the fact that check-engine lights up has nothing to do with bad idling. Check-engine always lights up when the engine speed gets too low, check-engine always comes on below 350 rpm. The reason for this doesn't matter. The PCMB analyses the crankshaft signal and compares the received signal with PCMB store data. The emission test failure thresholds are analysed over 1000 revolutions increments. The programmers have introduced the error code P300 for wrong ignition, e.g. too few ignition processes per unit of time - which means nothing else than too low engine speed. This error message can have many causes, it is actually not very helpful.

Actually, I would say: Your mistake could be the one Darryl has already remedied: The air meter potentiometer is faulty, the conductor is worn out at the point of idle, the current can no longer be conducted, the ECM receives no data for brief moments so the idle becomes restless. But: Zytec vehicles as your's do not have an air meter potentiometer. Instead, they have a throttle valve potentiometer that tells the PCMB the position of the throttle valve. The error is the same: a worn track leads to incorrect values that do not match the other values. One of the other important values is the vacuum in the manifold - while Bosch vehicles use an air flow based system with an air meter other than the pressure based Zytec vehicles. This MAP value and the value of the throttle valve potentiometer must match. The PCMB has programmed a table for the manifold absolut pressure (MAP). The sensor is located under the right front wing, where you see inside the engine compartement a rubber house entering the wing (close to the box with the PCMB).

So for me first two things to check are MAP sensor and throttle position potentiometer. I hope your car is not confirming to USA or Canadian specification.

The CMP (camshaft sensor) has nothing to do with your problem. It is only to tell the PCMB when to start firing, in other words when A1 cylinder is in TDC position. Without this information the engine will not start. If the running engine looses this information nothing happens as far as the engine is not stopped - the PCMB calculates the right moment for firing from the CKP (in Darryl's car ESS).

To avoid any wrong or stupid advice, it would be helpful to know the chassis number of your car. My ContiR is MY96, too, but I never had the kind of problem you are reporting. So the advice is somewhat theoretical.

I hope, this is of some help. Regards - Udo
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1936
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Saturday, 15 February, 2020 - 17:32:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

My Dear Udo,
At this stage I would like my friend Vladimir to arrange a really hot chick to fly over to your house and give you a big fat kiss. I understand this is not an impossible task. Vlad - can this be achieved?

Udo I think you have nailed it!!!
The area you took me to has a connector that has 4 terminals that goes into nothing. I imagine there should be a MAP sensor there. Do you have a picture of what it looks like and where it should be screwed into?

Oh and yes my car is USA Spec
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Udo Hoffmüller
Experienced User
Username: udo

Post Number: 107
Registered: 02-2008
Posted on Saturday, 15 February, 2020 - 18:32:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Dear Omar,

the sensor is mounted under the right front wing. There are two sensors, one for the turbo, one for the PCMB. They are only accessible from outside the engine compartement. But the plug for both of the sensors is close to the box that contains the PCMB. The plug is easy to identfy because the cables enter the front wing - the only ones in this region.

The USA spec cars have an acceleration sensor fitted to the left spring pot/dome inside the engine compartment. This sensor may cause problems - but I forgot the way it is involved, I have to search for more info. My ContiR is british and does not have this sensor.

Sorry, I cannot take photos. The ContiR is in Germany while I am in Tenerife during wintertime, here we have the TurboRL and the Shadow. Maybe it looks just like on the Turbo, but I am not sure about that because our Turbo is MY91 with Bosch KE-Motronic.

I'll try to find out more about this damn acceleration sensor.

Regards - Udo
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Udo Hoffmüller
Experienced User
Username: udo

Post Number: 108
Registered: 02-2008
Posted on Sunday, 16 February, 2020 - 01:53:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Just to add to the previous post: The purpose of the acceleration sensor is to detect extreme road roughness which may cause resonances of the engine and/or the body and so lead to erroneous detection of misfire. In this case misfire detection should be suspended by the PCMB. If the sensor is faulty you may find your error code P300.

The sensor is only sensitive in vertical direction. It must be mounted correctly to not be activated in other direction than vertical.

So this is what this (stupid?) sensor may lead to. I have no idea what happens if it is simply disconnected. May be this is impossible because the PCMB must be programmed accordingly.

You should take in mind that this sensor in your car may be the culprit of strange misfire error code while the reason for strange engine behaviour is completely different.

Herewith we have completely left the original topic. Wouldn't it be better to separate Omar's question and the following answers?

Regards - Udo
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

richard george yeaman
Prolific User
Username: richyrich

Post Number: 1136
Registered: 04-2012
Posted on Sunday, 16 February, 2020 - 11:14:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Udo I find all the information above very interesting and as there is very little information on these late cars it would be helpful if they could be moved, my Turbo R vin 60128.

Richard.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1937
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Monday, 17 February, 2020 - 01:41:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Dear Udo,
Many thanks for the information. It is truly invaluable.
I will not be able to get under the wing until the weekend. I will report back when I do so.

So... I need to see three items under the wing. A thing called a pcmb, a turbo sensor and an acceleration sensor. Are these at the front of the wing or at the back?. Will all 3 of these be under the wing? My car also has an intercooler fan under the wing (close to the front of the car)


I agree that this excursion needs its own thread and i would request the Moderator to kindly start a new thread with the last 5 posts taken there. The title can be "P300 Random Multiple Misfire"

Will do later today when I have some free time - we are doing our best right now to keep the medical profession gainfully employed!!!!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Udo Hoffmüller
Experienced User
Username: udo

Post Number: 109
Registered: 02-2008
Posted on Monday, 17 February, 2020 - 03:27:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Omar, no - you must read more carfully

Under the right front wing you will find the sensors for the turboECU (which is under the left front wing) and the MAP sensor (manifold absolut pressure) which is the important thing to let the ECM (engine control module) know the load condition of the engine - Bosch is using a mass air flow sensor, a completely different way to get information about the load condition of the engine.

The MAP sensor under the left front wing is just where the cables enter the wing close to the engineECU.

The body acceleration sensor (this is the correct name, abbreviated BA) is mounted on top left of the suspension spring retaining cover - this is the description of the location taken from the workshop manual.

Please forget for the moment the PCMB - I was wrong and a little confused about all thouse abbreviations. PCMB is what RR calls the TurboECU which is mounted under the left front wing. Sorry about that.

The best of all: You do not need to crawl under the wing. The cables from the sensors lead to a plug close to where they enter the engine compartment (or where they enter the wing, just as you like to look at the cables). There you have to measure with you ammeter if the sensors do work correctly.

Look at the first pic - 101 is the MAP sensor, 102 is the according plug where to measure. Just for your orientation: 1 is the engineECU, 79 and in the neighbourhood are the relays for engineECU, fuel pumps pp

engine compartment

Look at the second pic - 131 is the BA sensor

engine compartment1

Regards - Udo
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1938
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Monday, 17 February, 2020 - 05:32:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

This is excellent Udo!!!

I will take a look in the next few days and report back.
Do you know what constitutes a working or damaged MAP sensor? the same question applies to the Body Acceleration sensor.

Thanks again.
Omar
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1941
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Saturday, 22 February, 2020 - 06:07:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Dear Udo,
I have the body acceleration sensor in place and it looks like a sealed box that will either work or not work. I will leave this item alone for now.

The MAP sensor has a vacuum hose that goes from the depths of the V in the engine into a grommet that then disappears behind the wing.
The sensor itself must be under the wing. I will need to remove the splash guard below the wing to see the sensor and then report further.
For reference the Body Acceleration sensor is a Bosch part 273 101 021.
thanks
Omar
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1951
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Saturday, 14 March, 2020 - 01:15:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I have not yet looked at the MAP sensor but I came across this on the net.......




On my car, the UE 73180 (air pressure transducer) is electrically connected but the vacuum line is not connected.
My UT11563 (T piece) is also missing. where the T should be, the two hoses are connected together.

I think my first activity would be to reinstate this T and line.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Brian Vogel
Grand Master
Username: guyslp

Post Number: 3018
Registered: 06-2009
Posted on Saturday, 14 March, 2020 - 01:26:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Omar,

I'm coming in for a "drive by" posting based on general experience not specific to RR/Bentley.

You are correct that your first course of action should be to restore any vacuum lines to their appropriate configuration and to check that you do not have leaks elsewhere. If you end up replacing vacuum lines, and are not a stickler for exact OEM appearance, silicone line made for this purpose is much more durable (not that the original isn't pretty darned durable to begin with).

The number of issues that can arise from vacuum being out of whack are myriad. And you know that no matter what the marque, the engineers were expecting that what they put there is what would remain intact.

Brian
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1953
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Saturday, 14 March, 2020 - 02:35:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Sound advice Brian
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael vass
Frequent User
Username: mikebentleyturbo2

Post Number: 632
Registered: 07-2015
Posted on Saturday, 14 March, 2020 - 19:41:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi guys
I've only ever seen this uneven tickover
/ almost cutting out/hunting problems on cars with cats and air pump, I think the lambda sensors set up a feedback osculation.
Just my opinion OK
Mike
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Brian Vogel
Grand Master
Username: guyslp

Post Number: 3019
Registered: 06-2009
Posted on Sunday, 15 March, 2020 - 08:20:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP


quote:

the lambda sensors set up a feedback osculation




There's *kissing* involved?!! How shocking!

[Sorry, I just couldn't resist. It's the first time I've seen osculation substituted for oscillation and it struck my funny bone.]

Brian
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

David Gore
Moderator
Username: david_gore

Post Number: 3629
Registered: 04-2003
Posted on Sunday, 15 March, 2020 - 08:43:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Nothing like a good malapropism to start the day.....

Thanks Michael for a great start to my day and Brian for adding the finishing touch!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael vass
Frequent User
Username: mikebentleyturbo2

Post Number: 633
Registered: 07-2015
Posted on Sunday, 15 March, 2020 - 18:38:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Don't blame me it's your spill chucker lol
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Prolific User
Username: omar

Post Number: 1955
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Thursday, 19 March, 2020 - 13:43:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Dear Udo,
you have solved my problem. I am most grateful to you for that.
The missing vacuum line and T was the culprit. My idle is now excellent!!

A very big thank you.
Omar
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Omar M. Shams
Grand Master
Username: omar

Post Number: 2109
Registered: 04-2009
Posted on Saturday, 09 January, 2021 - 02:33:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

The screenshot above in this thread shows the MAP sensor UE73180 and another MAP sensor UT10648.
These look like common Ford Escort parts from the same era as our cars. The Cosworth Ford series of turbocharged cars had the same components. The difference in price between the Ford parts and Introcar/Flying Spares is approximately 800%.

The part off my car actually has a Ford part number displayed as V93AB-9F479-AA.

Does anyone know which Ford part is used in the turbocharged Bentleys?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Darryl Watson
Experienced User
Username: inox

Post Number: 149
Registered: 04-2015
Posted on Wednesday, 13 January, 2021 - 00:13:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Reading all of this I am glad I have a “simple” Motronic normally aspirated engine.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael vass
Frequent User
Username: mikebentleyturbo2

Post Number: 699
Registered: 07-2015
Posted on Wednesday, 13 January, 2021 - 19:42:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Darryl
I agree,how much more power is achieved by all this?
Mike
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Darryl Watson
Experienced User
Username: inox

Post Number: 151
Registered: 04-2015
Posted on Wednesday, 13 January, 2021 - 20:34:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I think in the real world with traffic and road conditions one would gain very little from having the more powerful car(s).
Journey times in the UK would be about the same and our “S” more than capable of dealing with modern traffic.

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Bold text Italics Underline Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image

Username: Posting Information:
This is a public posting area. Enter your username and password if you have an account. Otherwise, enter your full name as your username and leave the password blank. Your e-mail address is optional.
Please quote Chassis Numbers for all vehicles mentioned.
Password:
E-mail:
Action: