Gear Selector Doing Nothing ! Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Shadow Series » Gear Selector Doing Nothing ! « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Robert Gardner
Experienced User
Username: bobg

Post Number: 15
Registered: 12-2012
Posted on Monday, 24 March, 2014 - 11:58 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hello everyone, This evening when I tried to move the car, I had no connection at the gear selector, just moved up and down as though the car was not running, never had this happen before.

Aside from the obvious , being a fuse or something, How would I check the gear cut-off relay on the fuse panel,to see it that's the problem and / or could it be something else ?

Help greatly appreciated, need to move the car to our new home.

Thanks, Bob G.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Yorke
Grand Master
Username: paul_yorke

Post Number: 1175
Registered: 6-2006
Posted on Monday, 24 March, 2014 - 05:00 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

When was it moved last? What year car is it?

Use a test light to check the pins either side to ensure that there is a feed in and out.

You can usually see which terminal goes to which rivet on the fuse board and check there. (or check them all.)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Hubert Kelly
Frequent User
Username: h_kelly

Post Number: 99
Registered: 3-2012
Posted on Tuesday, 25 March, 2014 - 02:18 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Robert, consider looking at the actuator loom which is attached to the actuatorhttp://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Concorde-Aircraft-Rolls-Royce-Olympus-593-Jet-Engine-Electrical-Plug-/141167085408
as in picture shown, if you have no power to this here lies the problem. I had this very situation about 2 years ago , the connection at this plug lost contact hence no power. hk
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Robert Gardner
Experienced User
Username: bobg

Post Number: 16
Registered: 12-2012
Posted on Tuesday, 25 March, 2014 - 03:31 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Thanks so much Hubert, I will look at that, Two quick questions, Where exactly is it located? And where could I get a new one if necessary ?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Hubert Kelly
Frequent User
Username: h_kelly

Post Number: 100
Registered: 3-2012
Posted on Tuesday, 25 March, 2014 - 04:15 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Robert, its under the car attcahed to the side of the gearbox to the actuator as pictured http://www.ebay.com/itm/ELECTRONIC-SHIFTER-MOTOR-shift-solenoid-actuator-Rolls-Royce-Silver-Shadow-1967-/140613558637 This also might be of use http://rrtechnical.info/SY/TSD4200/m/m4.pdf pages 33-36 fonund on this site.
I managed to salvage the plug, had to solder a wire and had to make a new single pin.Robert just to say this is a delicate job... as if you disconnect or dislodge more than one wire, while trying to fix one .. it may make the job complicated?. if you do require a new one
try google type in "rolls royce silver shadow actuator loom". Finally to say... I would check all the simple options first as advised by Paul, with a bit of luck it might be as simple as that.
HK

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Bold text Italics Underline Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image

Username: Posting Information:
This is a public posting area. Enter your username and password if you have an account. Otherwise, enter your full name as your username and leave the password blank. Your e-mail address is optional.
Please quote Chassis Numbers for all vehicles mentioned.
Password:
E-mail:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action: