Contract law and tort. Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Idler Chatter » Archive to 2017 » Contract law and tort. « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bob UK
Unregistered guest
Posted From: 94.197.122.83
Posted on Friday, 01 August, 2014 - 07:51:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I am not a lawyer do not base a.defence or prosecution on what I say get a lawyer.

Unpaid invoice has been mentioned.

For an invoice to be valid there must be a valid contract. The courts in the UK are very unhappy with the idea of a.sign on a wall as the base of a contract because--------

A verbal contract such a bag of chips please is a valid contract once the chips have been served the contract is completed
A written contract such I will pay £40 if I park to long is valid if signed by the Parker.
But with the sign there is neither and that is what the UK courts are concerned about.
A judge has gone on record saying that and the commons have also said the same.
Plus a contract should have an offer and payment free parking has no payment so there is no contract unless the Parker overstayed.

These points are for barristers to argue about.
Tort
Tort is wronging someone.

If the Parker obstructs an entrance to say the warehouse and the owner loses say £1000 then the car parker has wronged the.warehouse owner who may sue the car owner for the loss, the tort. A sign such as no parking is not necessary for the.wharehouse to win bit it would help. If the sign says 2 hour limit then a judge might think that it was asking for a problem and decide accordingly and probably the warehouse would lose.

I would not put myself in that position,.I take care where I park.

(Message approved by david_gore)

Jan Forrest
Grand Master
Username: got_one

Post Number: 575
Posted on Friday, 01 August, 2014 - 23:18:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP