Royce with a turbocharged Wankel engi... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » General Discussion » Threads to 2015 » Royce with a turbocharged Wankel engine? Twin crankshafts anyone? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Lluís Gimeno-Fabra
Frequent User
Username: lluís

Post Number: 94
Posted on Friday, 04 September, 2009 - 17:26:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Dear List,

Having taken half a day off, I invested my afternoon doing what I do for a living: patents...

I searched, just for the fun of it, the published patents of Rolls Royce motorcars that might have been relevant to the 1990 models and found some very nice examples of technologies that they patented in the 70's and 80´s.

There are turbocharged Wankel engines, twin crankshaft (H-configuration) engines, hybrid generator/drive drivelines. the list goes on.

I selected the funniest and put them in a list that I will post below. You can just type the number in google and you will get the patent through many of the free patent viewing services.

Or you can use the much better European Patent Office search tool, just copy and paste the number:

http://ep.espacenet.com/numberSearch?locale=en_EP

I am quite sure that you will have a good laugh thinking of your Shadow with that nice hybrid drive and a turbocharged Wankel...

See you.

Lluís

Lluís Gimeno-Fabra
Frequent User

Post Number: 95
Posted on Friday, 04 September, 2009 - 17:32:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

RR Turbocharged Wankel engine: GB1468087
Details of said engine: GB1437528
Injection system for said engine: GB1435728
Beautiful rotor GB1459039

Flywheel generator and starter (as in Prius): GB1513871

H-configuration engine GB2038936

What amazes me the most is that some of these ideas were actually patented by RR in many countries, so someone in RR must have taken more or less seriuosly these ideas.