Researching the ancestry of Eleanor V... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » General Discussion » Threads to 2015 » Researching the ancestry of Eleanor Velasco Thornton « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ivan Jose Diaz
Unregistered guest
Posted From: 68.214.20.176
Posted on Friday, 17 October, 2003 - 05:50:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

My best greetings to the fellow Rolls Royce enthusiasts of Australia!

My name is Ivan J. Diaz and I am a resident of the city of Miami, Florida, U.S.A. My wife and I recently purchased a Rolls Royce Silver Spur II, 1990 model in excellent condition.

I am researching the ancestry of Eleanor Velasco Thornton, who was the model for the sculpture Mr. Charles Sykes created as “The Spirit of Ecstacy”. When I read the fascinating article “ELEANOR, IN BODY OR SPIRIT? by Paul Tritton, 1986 in your Club’s web site, I decided to contact your organization.

The reason for my research is that my wife, Mirta Velasco Diaz, has an ancestry from Southern Spain, where the last name Velasco originated. It comes from the Arab root “Velaquez”, from the times the Arabs conquered Southern Spain. My wife and I are trying to determine if she is related in ancestry to Ms. Eleanor Velaso Thornton. To us, it would be a very significant source of genuine pride if this was the case.

I am trying to contact someone in England who may assist us in researching this possibility.
Could any of you possibly provide us with a way to pursue this research in England or steer us in the right direction? Or do you have any other suggestions on contacts we can try?

I realize that this is a rather unusual request. To us it would be a very gratifying experience.

Sincerely,

Ivan J. Diaz
2333 Brickell Avenue
Apt. # 811
Miami, FL 33129, U.S.A.
Tel. (305) 859-8599
e-mail: d.s.associates@att.net

William H. Trovinger II
Prolific User
Username: bill_trovinger