Now for something completely differen... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » General Discussion » Now for something completely different underbody sealers « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Vladimir Ivanovich Kirillov
Grand Master
Username: soviet

Post Number: 1320
Posted on Thursday, 14 March, 2019 - 13:37:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I wish apply something on the underbody of the Camargue and Spirit as I don't like the way they look at the moment.

Somewhere I have read that some underbody sealants do more damage than they prevent because they are porous and allow moisture to collect and stay in contact with the metal surfaced.

Now this could be another tooth fairy story but I really don't know.

I was thinking of a POR product but I have never used this product before and have zero idea whether its good, bad or just a gem of slick Americanski saturation advertising similar to what Toyota uses to market their mass produced fantastic plastic rubbles with wheels.

David Gore
Username: david_gore

Post Number: 3178
Posted on Thursday, 14 March, 2019 - 13:58:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

If my memory is correct, a product called POR-15 was widely promoted in the 1990's for underbody sealing and rust prevention.

I would be VERY interested in any follow-up on situations where this product was used and the subsequent experience with its suitability.

https://www.por15.com/POR-15_Rust_Preventive_Coating

Vladimir Ivanovich Kirillov
Grand Master
Username: soviet

Post Number: 1321
Posted on Thursday, 14 March, 2019 - 14:07:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

David POR 15 is not porous so it may be the one I need.

Let's see what the others have to say.

Mark Taxis
Prolific User
Username: mark_taxis

Post Number: 169
Posted on Thursday, 14 March, 2019 - 16:34:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Vlad