1997 Bentley Brooklands alarm tone pr... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Miscellaneous » 1997 Bentley Brooklands alarm tone problem « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Alan Hodgkinson
Yet to post message
Username: al_hodg

Post Number: 1
Registered: 11-2014
Posted on Monday, 24 November, 2014 - 01:38 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

My Brooklands has developed an intermittent alarm tone fault. Occasionally when doors are locked with remote, alarm tone does not sound and hence internal alarm is not set even when all doors are locked. Also occasionally O/S//R passenger door does not lock. Can anyone tell me what the root cause of the alarm tone fault is
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bob uk
Unregistered guest
Posted From: 94.197.122.87
Posted on Monday, 24 November, 2014 - 03:34 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Maybe a sensor or switch that tells the alarm that the doors are shut is faulty.

(Message approved by david_gore)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Alan Hodgkinson
New User
Username: al_hodg

Post Number: 2
Registered: 11-2014
Posted on Monday, 24 November, 2014 - 10:33 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Thanks Bob UK. Can you tell me where these sensors are located and how they can be tested please
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bob uk
Unregistered guest
Posted From: 94.197.122.90
Posted on Tuesday, 25 November, 2014 - 06:15 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

The sensors are usually a micro switch in the door lock or the interior light switches.

Note I am guessing. So check the wiring diagram.

(Message approved by david_gore)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Yorke
Grand Master
Username: paul_yorke

Post Number: 1328
Registered: 6-2006
Posted on Tuesday, 25 November, 2014 - 09:08 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Alan, The security ecu can be accessed via the diagnostic port.

Do you have a friendly independent RR&B specialist near by.

It will check the function of all the switches, the lock positions for each door and the sensors etc.

If door motors do not operate, often it can be dampness in the motor that corrodes the sliding contacts.

This can also cause problems with the other motors or alarm system so it may be that door giving the problems?

It is possible to check the terminals one by one, but time consuming.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bob uk
Unregistered guest
Posted From: 94.197.122.72
Posted on Wednesday, 26 November, 2014 - 06:53 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Try spraying the door latches with WD40. Also work the locks manually a few times.

With a bit of luck it may clean whatever is the problem.

My shadow which doesn't have alarm and plip plop locking. The central locking solenoids got sticky so WD40 and manual operation of the chrome push button on the door capping made them work much better. Then engine oil because WD40 lasts 40 days. Door cards removed.

(Message approved by david_gore)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Alan Hodgkinson
New User
Username: al_hodg

Post Number: 3
Registered: 11-2014
Posted on Thursday, 27 November, 2014 - 04:01 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Guys
Thank you to Bob UK and Paul Yorke your replies are extremely helpful. Really appreciate you guys taking the time to consider my problem

Regards

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Bold text Italics Underline Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image

Username: Posting Information:
This is a public posting area. Enter your username and password if you have an account. Otherwise, enter your full name as your username and leave the password blank. Your e-mail address is optional.
Please quote Chassis Numbers for all vehicles mentioned.
Password:
E-mail:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action: