Failure to halt Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Spirit Series » Threads to 2015 » Failure to halt « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Clifford Donley
New User
Username: flatus

Post Number: 7
Posted on Monday, 04 January, 2010 - 01:51:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I'm new to RR and to my '84 Spirit X09211. Twice I've had the rather unnerving experience of having the brake pedal go to the floor with no apparent braking effect. In neither case were the hydraulic warning lights illuminated (they do work properly).

If the car were a Shadow, I would start with the supplementary master cylinder. But it isn't. So, I'm somewhat at a loss as where to begin. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Cliff D.

Paul Yorke
Grand Master
Username: paul_yorke

Post Number: 511
Posted on Tuesday, 05 January, 2010 - 08:17:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Clifford,

What had you been driving like before the failure? fast? hills? wet? etc. hot, cold, short trip?

How long was the pedal gone for?

How did you check the pressure warning lights?

When was the fluid changed last?

Clifford Donley
New User

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, 05 January, 2010 - 08:58:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

What had you been driving like before the failure? fast? hills? wet? etc. hot, cold, short trip?

On a shopping trip around town on cool winter (here) days. In both instances the failures were within a few minutes after having made a store visit. Speeds were less than 45-mph. And, immediately before the failures I had been driving just a few miles per hour.

How long was the pedal gone for?

It seems like about a minute more or less.

How did you check the pressure warning lights?

By turning the engine off and, with the ignition on, pumping the brake pedal until the lights illuminated--about ten times.

When was the fluid changed last?