83 Spur Float chamber drain valve rep... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Spirit Series » 83 Spur Float chamber drain valve replacement. « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Daryl White
New User
Username: 1of45

Post Number: 7
Posted on Monday, 28 November, 2022 - 15:44:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi all, I’m wondering if I could replace this float chamber valve from the bottom of the fuel weakening device with a standard one way valve as I’m missing the original one.

Also, Does this drain the overflow from the fuel weakening device go through the valve and go to the ground or is there another pipe that returns the excess fuel to the tank. Still a novice here.

Thanks Daryl - SCAZL0008DCH06856

Brian Vogel
Grand Master
Username: guyslp

Post Number: 3320
Posted on Tuesday, 29 November, 2022 - 02:52:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I have no idea what the original valve's "dump weight" is, but provided you have something that lets the dump occur (and, barring malfunction, it should never occur) without backing up you should be fine.

It dumps straight to the ground. There is no return because this is really an emergency overflow control. If you ever have something coming out of that valve you need to check your carb floats.

By the way, where was your car originally delivered? I can never keep straight exactly which markets still were using the SU carbs in the very early 80s SZ models. In the USA, it was all fuel injection by 1983.

Brian

Daryl White
New User

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, 29 November, 2022 - 09:07:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP