Knocking sound from the transmission Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Spirit Series » Knocking sound from the transmission « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Anders Nilsson
New User
Username: nilssan

Post Number: 4
Posted on Monday, 22 April, 2019 - 23:18:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi all,

I have been restoring a 1981 R-R Corniche at slow pace since 2011. Now, when everyting was supposed to be ready, I started the engine with the car still on stands. However, as I select any gear, there is a loud knocking sound in frequency proportional to the propshaft rotation speed (one knock per revolution). Transmission is at the correct level. The transmission has not been in use since 2011 and not separated from the engine. Oil and filter have been renewed at 3 years' interval. Any suggestion in addition to replacing the whole gearbox would be highly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Anders Nilsson

Robert J. Sprauer
Grand Master
Username: wraithman

Post Number: 320
Posted on Tuesday, 23 April, 2019 - 00:16:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Perhaps a process of elimination. Does it produce a sound in neutral? Note the torque converter is rotating in neutral pumping away. To test the rest of the trans, disconnect the drive shaft at the transmission extension. This will eliminate the prop and everything after it.
Now your trans is isolated and run thru the gears and see what happens.

Mark Herbstreit
Prolific User
Username: mark_herbstreit

Post Number: 197
Posted on Tuesday, 23 April, 2019 - 08:42:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

If the car is on stands, I assume the driveshafts are hanging at full extension. I have heard them clunk if rear jacked up running at that extreme angle but dead quiet when everything on the ground.

Robert J. Sprauer
Grand Master

Post Number: 329