Early 1988 Silver Spirit Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Spirit Series » Early 1988 Silver Spirit « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

David Gore
Username: david_gore

Post Number: 2802
Posted on Saturday, 06 January, 2018 - 14:13:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I have been asked to post the following information on behalf of Barry Parker, a new ACT member of the Forum who sold his Mercedes C350 and acquired the following Silver Spirit as he describes below in an email to Patrick Ryan:

Barry and Car

I have joined the RR Forum as you may see in my details shortly.

I am not very good at sizing pictures and I note that your daughter’s [Patrick Ryan's] photography of your car is quite professional.

I have attached a picture which Pam took with her phone camera.

We don’t know how to re-size them yet.

My 1988 Silver Spirit car detail numbers are:-

VRN: 2107780

Chassis: SCAZSO2A3JCH22161

Engine: 62043L41018

Manufactured: 01/1988 (This date would probably make my car one of the oldest Spirits around?)

Expiry Date: 22/07/2018

If you could help me out by forwarding these details to the Forum in a more acceptable format, I would appreciate it very much.

The vehicle came with original owner's manual and all service books, plus certificate covering the LPG installation.

Together with an elegantly bound, A4 folder with transparent pockets complete with records for every year since 1988.

Runs only on LPG only NOT petrol.

Very smooth almost silent,ride.

Slightly spongy brakes may require some adjustments.

Paint is pretty old though and mismatched here and there, with stone chips in the usual places.

A couple of shopping trolley dimples in a door.

Took it to my mechanic, he had a drive and shook his head. He says the car drives better than some of the new cars people buy today

Done nearly 200,000km and still has heaps of life left in it.