No start without throttle then fine Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Spirit Series » No start without throttle then fine « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael vass
Grand Master
Username: mikebentleyturbo2

Post Number: 396
Registered: 7-2015
Posted on Sunday, 19 November, 2017 - 01:57 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi All
Need your help for a mate with a weird problem.
turbo r 27643 , fail to start unless throttle depressed then starts and runs perfectly fine ticks over fine, hot or cold.
Have changed the throttle position switch, fuel filters.
Seems no spark when turning over without throttle.
Any ideas?
Cheers
Mike
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Maxwell Heazlewood
Frequent User
Username: tasbent

Post Number: 98
Registered: 9-2017
Posted on Sunday, 19 November, 2017 - 09:58 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Mike, check all the simple things first.
Relays in the start system, cold start enrichment device.
What sounds are you getting when you turn key to start position but don't start engine?
Can you here the fuel pump/s energize?
Replace starter relay and efi relay.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Yorke
Grand Master
Username: paul_yorke

Post Number: 1952
Registered: 6-2006
Posted on Sunday, 19 November, 2017 - 10:53 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Will it continue cranking forever?

How much throttle does it need Michael?

Will it start with just a tiny bit of throttle?

Cheers, Paul.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael vass
Grand Master
Username: mikebentleyturbo2

Post Number: 397
Registered: 7-2015
Posted on Monday, 20 November, 2017 - 02:11 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi all
Thanks for the suggestions,
Paul it would crank until the battery went flat, it will start with a little throttle.
I didn't fit the new tps but I think the guy that did has not set it right, I will check and let you know.
Thanks all again
Mike
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Yorke
Grand Master
Username: paul_yorke

Post Number: 1953
Registered: 6-2006
Posted on Monday, 20 November, 2017 - 07:41 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Correctly adjusted is important.

Also a sticky idle speed air valve may be the problem.

Does it idle correctly .? Correct speed in and out of gear, air con on and of, headlamps on and off etc?

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Bold text Italics Underline Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image

Username: Posting Information:
This is a public posting area. Enter your username and password if you have an account. Otherwise, enter your full name as your username and leave the password blank. Your e-mail address is optional.
Please quote Chassis Numbers for all vehicles mentioned.
Password:
E-mail:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action: