Ballast Help please! Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Shadow Series » Threads to 2015 » Ballast Help please! « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

luke vero
Yet to post message
Username: louisv

Post Number: 1
Posted on Sunday, 28 January, 2007 - 07:37 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi all, great forum. Im new to RR ownership and getting to grips with the layout of everything.I have searched for an answer on this forum with no luck. My low mileage (38,000) UK shadow SRH 18738 (1974) failed to start last week- it would 'catch' and rev until key was returned to run position and then it died everytime (incidently it had recently stalled at traffic lights and whilst idling a few times before complete failiure).My engineer uncle corrrectly diagnosed the problem as a faulty ballast resistor-bentley part number UE34105 -£23 sterling, when plugged in to connectors the car immediately started with no trouble at all.Now i need to fit it properly and remove the old one.Its right down near the firewall/scuttle bolted to the coil mounts - but access to get a socket driver down there is virtually impossible?and even leaning over and down is really hard- what needs to be removed to finish the job properly? Does part of the heater box need to come out? Help would be greatly appreciated- Luke in London UK. PS change your ballast's as others on the forum have warned-its not something you want to do at the roadside!

Paul Yorke
New User
Username: paul_yorke

Post Number: 5
Posted on Sunday, 28 January, 2007 - 08:25 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Luke,

It is a horrible fiddly job.

You should not have to remove anything, but will need either:

A) a well trained monkey or octopus

or

B) A box to stand on, a 1/2" 13mm deep socket or short extension and a 12" cable tie. ( a friend would be good )