Another LEAK! Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Shadow Series » Another LEAK! « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Greene
Experienced User
Username: benzjag

Post Number: 11
Posted on Wednesday, 04 May, 2016 - 11:34 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

One of the steel brake lines that goes directly under the center of my 78 Shadow is leaking. I am assuming I need to take it off and have a new line made? How difficult is it to remove? My local NAPA store has brake lines with fittings in various sizes. I am also assuming they will not have the correct fitting? Is this correct? Is there a consensus the Dot 4 brake fluid with the caster oil mixture is acceptable when the new line is installed?

As guidance appreciated! As you can tell, I am new at this on a RR!

Richard

1975 Shadow RHD
1978 Shadow II LHD

Jonas TRACHSEL
Frequent User
Username: jonas_trachsel

Post Number: 85
Posted on Wednesday, 04 May, 2016 - 04:03 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Richard
When getting a new brake line made you MUST specify Cunifer tube. Never use copper tube, too weak for the high pressure system of your SS.
Use the "search" function and you will find quite some more info on Cunifer in this message board.
Jonas

David Gore
Username: david_gore

Post Number: 2016
Posted on Wednesday, 04 May, 2016 - 06:50 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Also search "Kunifer" and "90/10" Copper-Nickel alloy as these terms have also been used when posting information about Shadow brake lines.

Brian Vogel
Grand Master
Username: guyslp

Post Number: 1884
Posted on Thursday, 05 May, 2016 - 02:17 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Kunifer, Cunifer, KuNiFer, EZ-Bend, and the myriad other names it gets called is easy to source from anyplace that sells brake line.