Ball joint question - yes this is sin... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Shadow Series » Threads to 2015 » Ball joint question - yes this is sincere . . . « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Brian Vogel
Grand Master
Username: guyslp

Post Number: 1793
Posted on Tuesday, 15 December, 2015 - 11:27 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Suspension/steering is an arena in which I have zero experience, and I recently had someone asking me a question about this ball joint:

Upper Ball Joint with Pitting

I can see the pitting on the top, but this appears to be a casting artifact rather than the result of corrosion. I also thought these things are coated in grease inside the cup in which they rest, so if there are pits, as opposed to raised sharp bits above the ball, it really shouldn't matter.

All of the above being said, that's pure conjecture and I would really like to know whether that would be true or not. I have not offered an opinion because I'm not qualified to offer one.

At some point in my future dealing with one of these things will likely be in the cards, whether I want to or not, and I'd like to know whether these things are like the head on, say, a human joint implant (meaning, perfectly smooth and polished to a fare-thee-well), or are polished such that a spherical surface is present, but there may be tiny surface imperfections such as shown in the photograph.

Brian

Jim Walters
Frequent User
Username: jim_walters

Post Number: 58
Posted on Tuesday, 15 December, 2015 - 12:19 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP