GM Turbo 400 Transmission Information Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Shadow Series » Threads to 2015 » GM Turbo 400 Transmission Information « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Treacy
Grand Master
Username: richard_treacy

Post Number: 355
Posted on Friday, 17 September, 2004 - 07:07 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

There is an excellent publication:

“How to Work With and Modify the Turbo Hydra-Matic 400 Transmission”, by Ron Sessions.

I have been using the book for many years. It is applicable to all 3-speed Shadows and Spirits etc. I find it far more practical and useful than the normal Crewe workshop manual which waffles on about many unimportant things. Session's book even lists our transmissions and codes. The Crewe workshop manual is useful as a reference when it comes to R-R specifics (very few if any apart from the modulator part number), but Ron Session's book is really excellent as the primary reference. As you know, transmission spares are available at any transmission shop or Holden dealer.

I bought my copy at Motorbooks Australia in Military Road, Cremorne, Sydney, maybe now MOTORBOOKS AUSTRALIA, 2, Majura Cl St Ives 2075 (02) 9144 4799.

Should you wish to explore the machinations of the THM400, have a look !

David Gore
Username: david_gore

Post Number: 308
Posted on Friday, 17 September, 2004 - 12:12 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I also have this book and found it invaluable when I rebuilt the transmision on DRH14434.