Taking the exhaust system apart (or a... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Shadow Series » Threads to 2015 » Taking the exhaust system apart (or at least some of it) « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Brian Vogel
Grand Master
Username: guyslp

Post Number: 646
Posted on Thursday, 10 October, 2013 - 08:15 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Well, the tear down to get the starter out of SRH33576 has officially begun.

Ah, the fun of trying to take apart exhaust parts that have corroded together over the years!!

I've managed to get the clamp that holds the down pipe on to the exhaust manifold off as well as the U-clamp that holds the pipe into the first muffler. However, the pipe has a "death grip" on the muffler and I've never tried to separate exhaust parts before.

What are the typical "methods of persuasion" for this sort of thing. I can't imagine they're particularly delicate, but I also presume there are some things one does not want to do when trying to separate parts.

Guidance appreciated.

Brian

Jeff Young
Prolific User
Username: jeyjey

Post Number: 180
Posted on Thursday, 10 October, 2013 - 08:37 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Hi Brian,

See if you can get it apart enough just separating it at clamp/olive junctions. I never did manage to get some of the slip-joints apart on mine. I was replacing those parts so it didn't really matter, but if you can separate it between the front boxes and intermediate pipes (or even between the intermediate pipes and intermediate boxes), perhaps you can just leave the front sections "whole"?

Cheers,
Jeff.

Richard Treacy
Grand Master
Username: richard_treacy

Post Number: 2923
Posted on Friday, 11 October, 2013 - 01:54 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP