Set front band of my gearbox with th... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Silver Cloud & Bentley S » Set front band of my gearbox with the tool « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 60
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Monday, 14 May, 2012 - 12:29 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Good morning,
on my Silver Cloud 3
I want to set my front band with this tool.
Could you confirm if is it this bolt,that I need to remove , to screw my tool?
thanks
François
tool
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 63
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 05:49 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Because , on the gearbox manual the picture do not give a good visual on the place to screw the tool.
tool
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Treacy
Grand Master
Username: richard_treacy

Post Number: 2516
Registered: 4-2003
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:00 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

That's the one. The setting with the tool is the starting point and gives a rough and ready setting. Then go to TSD471 http://rrtechnical.info/autotransmissions/tsd471.htm to do the final settings once the vehicle is warmed up.

The important section of TSD471 is Section 2 (Servicing) http://rrtechnical.info/autotransmissions/tsd471/3.pdf

page 10.

Comments: the tool is not necessary other than to set up the transmission on the bench with a very approximate setting by inexperienced assemblers. Crewe only pushed the internal setup method using the tool so that the transmission fluid would be changed at every band adjustment, and dropped the TSD471 method publicly to force the mechanics to change the fluid. Invariably, a satisfactory gearchange is unlikely unless the TSD471 method described above is applied as the final adjustment once the transmission has notched up a few hundred kilometers and is set after a 10km drive.

RT.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 64
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:10 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

For you the external setting is better than the internal setting.
The internal setting is just aproximate and not precise enough.
The first adjustement is internal and automatically the final setting is an external adjustment.
François
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Treacy
Grand Master
Username: richard_treacy

Post Number: 2517
Registered: 4-2003
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:14 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

ps: TSD471 shows a special spanner set to set the bands on page 10 referred to above. You may use a standard set of sockets and open enders without any difficulty if you do not have the special tools. Also the tachometer is not necessary as you can easily hear the engine rpm increase and decrease when the bands release and catch.

RT.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 65
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:21 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I have this tool tool
and i have also a tachometer .
francois
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 66
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:30 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Thank you Richard .
I will follow your expérience.

François
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Treacy
Grand Master
Username: richard_treacy

Post Number: 2520
Registered: 4-2003
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:35 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Special spanners, and tacho 1950s-1960s style.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 67
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:35 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

If I can not increase rpm I believe that my front band is too much used.
because on my first try to set the front band by an external . I had not been increase rpm
francois
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Treacy
Grand Master
Username: richard_treacy

Post Number: 2521
Registered: 4-2003
Posted on Sunday, 20 May, 2012 - 10:46 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

François ,

perhaps we could discuss this offline or by phone (not tonight). I'll email you.

RT.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Francois Charlier
Frequent User
Username: vonplum

Post Number: 69
Registered: 3-2011
Posted on Friday, 08 June, 2012 - 12:50 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

For information
The setting was no good
I set the front band by internal with the tool.
It is perfect now.
My front band is good.
I let this setting for the moment.
I will follow the internal in the further if I have a trouble.
Thank you for your help
Francois

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Bold text Italics Underline Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image

Username: Posting Information:
This is a public posting area. Enter your username and password if you have an account. Otherwise, enter your full name as your username and leave the password blank. Your e-mail address is optional.
Please quote Chassis Numbers for all vehicles mentioned.
Password:
E-mail:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action: