Bentley Mk VI temperature gauge scale Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Early Post-War » Bentley Mk VI temperature gauge scale « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

John Rowney
Experienced User
Username: johnrowney

Post Number: 43
Posted on Thursday, 29 November, 2018 - 20:27:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Bentley Mk VI temperature gauge from B25KL
My Bentley Special B25KL has its original temperature gauge. Without having to go through the trouble of removing the temperature sensor and calibrating the gauge, does anyone know what each division means.
Over 50 years ago as a small subject in Engineering I studied ergonomics, and one of the things that stuck with me was the importance of having understandable and consistent gauge markings. Obviously this was after 1951 when B25KL was produced. However stupid gauge markings are still made by Audi and Lexus on their speedos.

Any help would be appreciated

Christian S. Hansen
Grand Master
Username: enquiring_mind

Post Number: 1005
Posted on Thursday, 29 November, 2018 - 21:05:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

John...
In broad generalities...
The Mk6 runs an unpressurized system, therefore its coolant begins to boil at about 100C. That is HOT and the last bar is RED to imply that. You don't get temperatures in an unpressurized system much hotter than that. The lower bar is 30. The upper bar can be assumed to be 100. The middle bar is 75. The other interim bars are just for convenience and signify increments between those three indicated temperatures. That's the way I have always interpreted it.

christopher carnley
Unregistered guest
Posted From: 86.176.214.40
Posted on Friday, 30 November, 2018 - 04:57:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

John,

Leave the gauge alone as removing it may disturb the capillary tube and its connections, making the gauge U.S.