Trafficator revealed Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Small Horsepower » Trafficator revealed « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Theo Whitmont
Experienced User
Username: old_mate

Post Number: 96
Posted on Friday, 05 August, 2022 - 15:54:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Here's some good news (I hope). Upon stripping GYD15 in prep for her long overdue repaint, we find the original housing for the trafficators - covered over with a bit of tin off-cut for the past 50 years thank you very much!

Revealed here.....

I'm keen to reinstate them.

There seem to be quite a few trafficator types on Ebay.... but I have no knowledge of what the correct size and finish would be. Most seem to have a chrome arm. The car was black.

The original photo of the car seems to have the trafficators very well camouflaged against the black roof. I wonder how they achieved this with a chrome arm?

The sales card notes "One pair Direction Indicators incl time switch, wide arm type" . There is a part number. Possibly 752SO261.

Any thoughts on how to proceed or what to look for would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance....again.

David Gore
Username: david_gore

Post Number: 4111
Posted on Friday, 05 August, 2022 - 21:22:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Theo,

If you find a suitable set of trafficators, I suggest you should look at the possibility of fitting LED bulbs instead of standard filament bulbs as the LED bulbs would better tolerate the vibration inherent in operating the trafficator and the frequent on/off power cycle.

I prefer black for the trafficator arm as this matches the exterior paintwork and a bright chrome arm could be a "jarring" sight on a distinguished vehicle. A satin finish stainless steel arm may be a good compromise if all-black is too much to look at.

Theo Whitmont
Experienced User

Post Number: 97