Weather permitting Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Australian RR Forums » Idler Chatter » Weather permitting « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Vladimir Ivanovich Kirillov
Grand Master
Username: soviet

Post Number: 796
Posted on Saturday, 16 December, 2017 - 02:32:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

I live almost a three hour drive from Bowen where I work as a bus mechanic. Where I live the humidity in summer is not that bad and during about 5 months of the year the weather is totally perfect.

But in Bowen there is mad weather. By 8 am in the morning the humidity is at an insane level and a bandana to stop the sweat running into your eyesockets is essential. Forget overalls they are too hot. I use jeans with suspenders and t-shirts.

By 11 am a cool breeze usually comes in and is most refreshing if you haven't just run out onto the highway and got skittled to get away from the humidity.

Another annoyance is Telstra's totally hopeless coverage in a town the size of Bowen. Telstra is Australia's premium telecom and is like the banks ie it only cares about profit margins. There are blackspots all over Queensland where your mobile phone is totally useless but Telstra would have you believe they are doing their best - BULLOCKS!

I will be free of the hideous humidity in three years when I retire permanently to my country lair but I often think that I should not complain and think about some of you other chaps that live in the UK or North America in the winter. Not much fun to be had working on your car out in the open when its zero celcius I guess.

ross kowalski
Grand Master
Username: cdfpw

Post Number: 667
Posted on Saturday, 16 December, 2017 - 21:55:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IP

Vlad,

Sometimes it's colder. Today won't even hit 0C and I have to do the car trailer shuffle.